Before I go

Posted in Simply Poetry

“I believe that if life gives you lemons, you should make lemonade…
And try to find somebody whose life has given them vodka, and have a party”
Ron White

Before I go

I promised myself to take it slow
So just one more drink before I go
Boy, did that line have me sold
In this oldest of stories ever told

Now before you start with your hate and scold
And all things out of proportion blow
Let my simple story before you unfold

It had been, a damned hard week
On the first day, the future looked at best bleak
I felt nauseous, I felt weak
Not knowing where to look or what to seek

Monday, Tuesday, they were slow
Wednesday, I got a little bold
Thursday hit, also the proverbial fan’s shit
Finally Friday, lucky Friday
This was ultimately my day!

Things got done
Now it was time for some fun
So before I got to go
I just yelled ‘Hello!’

What else did you expect?
No more projects
No more work
(That lousy jerk!)
Only a time to hit the road
And let the fun times start to flow

Oh, and just in case you wondered,
And called out my number:
It was just a weekender
Spent on this bender

All work and no fun
Pardon the pun
Would start all over again
When dreaded Monday begins