Writers for Throwback Thursday

Posted in Throwback Thursday: Treasures from the archives

“I’m a writer and, therefore,
automatically a suspicious character”
Alfred Hitchcock

Writers for Throwback Thursday

This weeks TBT is dedicated to us wannabe writers:
Enjoy these gems from the archives!

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Sailor, and a Writer
Write More, Complain Less
Stuck Between a Poem and a Hard Place
I am Out of Order for Today

I am Out of Order for Today

Posted in Throwback Thursday: Treasures from the archives

“The elevator to success is out of order.
You’ll have to use the stairs… one step at a time.”
Joe Girard

I am Out of Order for Today

Call it
A writer’s block
Or a total lock
My mind just
Put up the sign

“Empty room
For hire”

I will not pine
Somewhere
The fire
Can be found
Lifting me
Off the ground

To unblock
I will catch
The hook
To unlock
My writer’s mind

Stuck Between a Poem and a Hard Place

Posted in Throwback Thursday: Treasures from the archives

“Breathe-in experience,
breathe-out poetry”
Muriel Rukeyser

Stuck Between a Poem and a Hard Place

I am a poet
But did not know it
Now I am writing
Lyrics without biting
The bullets
My mind to the fullest
Hammering the keyboard
Not a big chore
No, not anymore

Ever since I started
I cannot be parted
From the blank page
That clean slate
Words pouring
My heart roaring
I feel elevated
Totally animated
Full of excitement

I am completely and utterly
Lost in Poetry

A poem a day keeps the Shrink at bay!

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Sailor, and a Writer

Posted in Throwback Thursday: Treasures from the archives

“I’m a writer and, therefore,
automatically a suspicious character”
Alfred Hitchcock

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Sailor, and a Writer

Looking into
A writers mind
You may phew
On what you find

Look in,
Carefully

Surprisingly
Lurking
Emerging

A

Tinker, Tailor,
Soldier, Sailor,
Rich Man, Poor Man,
Beggar Man, Thief

Peeping Tom, Stalker
Pervert, Prude
Sister, Brother
Loud Mouth, Mute

A

Antagonist
Protagonist
Killer, Saviour
Bad behaviour?

Winner, Looser
Coward, Hero
Or simply a Zero?

Storyteller, Liar
Truth teller, Denier

A questionable character?
Or just a clever Actor?
Psychopath,
Or, on a Path?

Writer, Politician, or a Crook?
Did I get you hooked?

Network

Sculpture of Helsinki:

Our Shadows Will Remain

Sculptures of Helsinki
Sculpture of Helsinki #19

Network is an installation that begins on the upper level of the University of Helsinki metro station (formerly Kaisaniemi) from Annikki Luukela. It is different coloured lights that continue from a glass wall filled with lights down the escalators to the metro level, much like the tiled installation at Ruoholahti metro station.

Sculptures of Helsinki

The green strips of light that lead down the escalators give the station an almost futuristic feel, as well as those that decorate the wall. Every time I visit this station I wonder how many people pass by each day without thinking about or even notice these details of their surroundings. It is these small details of the city, and its metro system, that make it unique.

Do you know any great details of your city that you have noticed but think others may have missed?
Sculptures of Helsinki

You can find almost 500 outdoor sculptures, pieces…

View original post 24 more words